The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories, #1)The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy cow! Upon finishing this novel I was instantly ready for the next! I had picked up this book from the bookstore having never hear of it or the author. I have an ever-growing list of books that I want to read (see “to read” shelf if there is doubt). But just then, standing amongst all the stories that I could read and have heard of, I was left wanting more. I didn’t want the tales of adults who even with magic remain bitter. No. I wanted a tale with lightness and joy, even though it didn’t ignore the problems and questions we all have. I picked up, walked around with, and replaced a dozen books. Each blurb having left me vaguely dissatisfied and unwilling to commit. I picked this book up on a whim as I was about to leave the store. I then bought it on a whim. I finished it a few hours after starting it overjoyed with my choice. A full five starts without a doubt!

So what is this story about? In essence, it has two plots: you have the kids who are dealing with the death of their father AND the true story behind the “Evil Queen” in our beloved fairy tale Snow White.

After the two siblings fall into a book, they go on the adventure of their lives trying to find a way home.
“I was just thinking,” Conner said. “Alice went to Wonderland after she fell into a rabbit hole. Dorothy’s whole house was scooped up by a tornado that dropped her off in Oz. The Narnia kids traveled through an old wardrobe…and we ended up in the fairytale world by falling through a book. I’m just saying that it’s kind of lame compared to the others. I wonder if there’s a support group for people like us? You know, people who accidentally travel into other dimensions and whatnot.”

There travels test their mettle as well as the strength of their character. Especially when they discover the Evil Queen is after the very things they need to get home! It addressing questions that are often uncomfortable for adults. What would I do to help another? How selfish am I really? What cost is too great to prevent me from doing the “right thing”? What exactly is the right thing? All those heavy questions introduced in basic terms and a child’s innocence! All that and adventure story into the very fairy-tales we grew up loving.

Beware however, your old favorites may have a different story to tell in this book. The thief, could be the victim. And you may have to reconcile the shades of gray between who is evil and who is good.

Never the less, it will be a great ride! Have fun reading! As for me, I am going to buy the second book and give the first one to my niece. Great stories should most definitely be shared!

