Knight of Darkness (Lords of Avalon, #2)Knight of Darkness by Kinley MacGregor
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One word: hilarious! I absolutely loved this book! It started on the very first page with an assassin of Merlin’s (the new Merlin) biting wit and sarcasm.

“There is a traitor among us”…”No shit, Sherlock. There is always a traitor among us.”

Okay, so I should probably start with what this story is about. This story is about what truly happened to Camelot and how the struggle between good and evil continues to this day. Merlin is not the crusty old man we remember advising Arthur and Camelot is not the saintly golden place where all evil withers and dies.

Personally, I like my heroes with a bit of an edge to them. There is nothing more tiresome than a good guy who is not relatable. The one who never steps a foot “wrong” and overcomes every adversity as shiny as they entered it. Varian is my kind of hero in every aspect. He is half demon, half saint constantly being torn between the two sides. He is a power who only chose the side of good because of two people who showed him the only kindness he has ever known.

“You can’t scare me, Merlin,” he said quietly. “I’m too old for ghost stories, and I really don’t give a rat’s ass about Morgen or her flock. If they want to come for me, notify the undertaker. He’ll need to stock up on body bags.”

The heroine of the tale is no angel either. She was a vain human who made a pact with the wrong sort of demon to avoid a marriage she never wanted. Of course, you can’t make a pact with a demon and expect the rotten bugger to play fair. Her lack of foresight ends up with her cursed. In an effort to break her curse and do the right thing, she risks it all; and you meet a woman who has kept her kindness despite centuries of hell.

With a quirky cast of characters, including my personal favorite a mandrake night with a wicked sense of humor that borders on the absurd and a kind heart, this story is a laugh a minute.

The best part is that the relationships are natural in the story rather than forced. This is more a fantasy than a romance. I love it! I hate when the plot falls by the wayside of an overly gooey couple.

A demon with a heart, a woman with a core of steel, a mandrake with a serious wit, and a side of Camelot that is more real than any fairytale. I whole heartedly recommend this read!

