The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, #1)The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

No matter how many times I try Tolkien, I just get bored. My mind wanders. My eyes get heavy. I start wondering how many hairs I have on my head. I thought that consistently falling asleep during the Hobbit was deployment exhaustion. But no, The Fellowship of the Ring is worse. He has random poetry and passages that do not make sense in the context given. The plot is disjointed. The conversations are hollow.

I think Tolkien built a fantastic world (the world building was magnificent) and could spin beautiful one liners, but foremost he was a linguist and a scholar not a novelist. It is disappointing to me. I wanted to really love Tolkien. He inspired novelists, gamers, movie arbiters….but to me his plot has no linear consistency and is like talking to a dementia patient on the final legs of the disease- random, confusing, and heart wrenching.

I wanted to be a Tolkien fan. Fantasy novels are amongst my favorite genres. I tried, and it saddens me greatly to have failed in loving his books. However, I just couldn’t help but get lost in his maze of imagery and contextually misplaced conversations and poetry.

