Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
My rating: 1 of 5 stars


Clockwork Princess

Déjà vu, anyone? This is a combination of the first two books.

Tessa is being hunted. (view spoiler)

“One girl, who is not Nephilim, is not, cannot, be our priority.”

Will is tortured because he is in love with his best friend’s girl.

“If Jem dies, I cannot be with Tessa,” said Will. “Because it will be as if I were waiting for him to die, or took some joy in his death, if it let me have her. And I will not be that person. I will not profit from his death. So he must live.” He lowered his arm, his sleeve bloody. “It is the only way any of this can ever mean anything. Otherwise it is only —”
Jem is dying.

“No one can say that death found in me a willing comrade, or that I went easily.”

And, the Magister is out for revenge. Throw in some betrayals, some inner Shadowhunter politics, and some literary quotes…rinse and repeat. The love triangle also gets more nauseating and the contradictions the author makes to herself (view spoiler) gets more apparent and extreme. This was nothing new. It did conclude the trilogy so that loose ends were taken care of. However, even the conclusion of loose ends felt like someone used a hatchet to do the job a scalpel was meant for (view spoiler).

And, then the author did my ULTIMATE story pet peeve and continued the story after the plot was done.

I was ready to be done with this trilogy and so I am. I doubt I will look for another one of this author’s books. While the banter between character’s remains amusing, the plot lacks creativity and the constant contradictions were annoying.

