Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #1)Hounded by Kevin Hearne

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Superficially enjoyable although not as original as advertised. For those who want a quick urban fantasy read that does not weigh them down.


“I have been around long enough to discount most superstitions for what they are: I was around when many of them began to take root,after all. But one superstition to which I happen to subscribe is that bad juju comes in threes.”

Atticus O’Sullivan has a problem: the Fae have found him. When you are an ancient Druid on the run from a seriously passed of deity, you would think Arizona would be a safe place to hide. However a few Google searches later and a name too close to the original and suddenly Aenghus Og sends a few Fae and a god or two and a number of other magic dealers to whack him and steal the sword he rightfully stole a couple millenia or so ago.

Tough break. So what is a Druid on the run to do?


“Attaboy,” the widow chuckled. “Off you go, then. Kill every last one o’ the battery’s and call me in the morning.”

Tired of running and passed off that an ancient god is getting frisky with his life, Atticus will wage a one man war against an old enemy. But is the decision really his or is he just a pawn for a dangerous game between the gods?


“I am asking you to choose sides. My side, specifically.”
“Done,” I said instantly. What moral dilemma was there? She wanted me to keep the sword; Aenghus wanted to take it. She liked me alive; Aenghus didn’t. She was hot; Aenghus was not.

Helped along by a band of werewolves with law degrees (turns out that you cannot just slay a bunch of giant creatures on your lawn without neighbors getting antsy,)

“Hey, if he dies it is going to be your fault!”
“If he dies he can sue me.”

a landlady with a soft spot (lust) for a bit of Irish muscle,

“Two days ago she watched me kill someone and she offered me her backyard a a place to hide the body.”
“Truly? That’s a fine woman.”

a barmaid with sass and something more,

“…you should think of me as a Vessel with a capital V. That should be more impressive, more mysterious, and Scooby-Doo, you know?”

and one rocking (my favorite) sidekick…a wolfhound with the gift of mental gab who is more than average.

“So I’m supposed to ninja past these cops, tread across broken glass-you do remember the broken glass, right?- avoid the buckets o’ blood outside the door, and jump silently into that puny car without saying hello to the upholstery?”
“An excellent summation. Make it quick.”
“Not so fast. Promise you’ll get me a date with a French poodle?”

Atticus just may have a chance at setting an age old feud down with thus zany crew…maybe.

Overall
we have the VERY PROMISING beginnings of some character development. Too soon to tell if it will live up to the promise. We also have a solid foundation for a world where one Druid is mixed up with the old gods in a modern world. Still, I could not get involved in the story. It was a little too one dimensional for me. Here is bad guy….fight bad guy…win…sigh.

For me the best part about this book was the supporting cast. This tale of revenge and history is told in the first person narrative- something extremely hard to pull off. And in Atticus’s case, he is just not as interesting as his crew. Ancient Druid meets hip 21 year with a deadly (literally if he is not careful) weakness for woman. Eh. As much as I love the Irish accent and the Fae of the old country, he just is not selling it. He is too devil-may-care meets blasé. It would have been better, I think, if we did not heard the world from the Iron Age frat-boy perspective.

Altogether though it was easy to pick up and easy to put down again. If you are into Jim Butcher or Pippa DaCosta, you may just want to give this one a look.

